I’m Back!!

I know I’ve been off the grid for a little while. Shortly after my last post my husband and I were hit with a nasty stomach virus that took us a little while to recover from. Yuck. The picture I used as my header is where I was wishing I could be while I was sick: fishing at the jetty.

Anyhoo, I want to talk about something really exciting!!

Ready for it??

*drumroll*

 

Folding laundry!

You’re on the edge of your seat, waiting to read what I have to say about folding laundry, aren’t you? I thought so.

I used to HATE folding laundry. It still isn’t my favourite thing to do in the whole world, but my dislike for it was so much stronger than it is now. I would pull it out of the dryer into the laundry hamper and leave it there for about a week or two until my husband and I had pulled out all of the clothes we needed from it, and, of course, they were all incredibly wrinkled. I’m guessing I’m not alone in doing that, and that it sounds like a familiar tale? I thought so.

Eventually, I made myself dump all of the clean clothes on our bed, which would force me to fold them before I went to bed, right? Sort of…. Depending on how tired I was, I would just throw them back into the hamper, or throw them on the nearest chair, or just throw them somewhere!! At some point, I made myself start to fold them – probably because I didn’t have anywhere to throw them, anymore. We had moved into another apartment (a very small apartment) and there was a nifty cabinet for our laundry hamper in the bathroom, which was right next to our washer and dryer and that made it very convenient to put the hamper right back in the cabinet once it was empty of dirty clothes. So, no hamper for the clean clothes, and the only chair in our room was used for holding the pillows from our bed.

I would come into the bedroom, tired and ready to crawl into bed, I would turn the lights on and then instantly despair when I saw the mountain of clothes on our comfy, cozy, warm, awaiting bed! I would grumble and get super grouchy as I folded everything.

After a while, I realized that it wasn’t so much the actual folding of the laundry that made me so irritable, it was walking in and seeing the giant pile of laundry! My brain would instantly start saying “It’s a freaking mountain! You’re going to be folding laundry for AT LEAST an hour!! Your hair is going to start greying and your feet are going to start hurting as you stand there folding the flippin’ laundry, right next to the only place you want to be: your bed!” Sound familiar? Yup, I thought so.

So the next time I had laundry piled on the bed, I stared at the mountain. I pushed it over and spread it out to shrink it. Then I realized that it’s all of the large pieces of clothing that make it look so huge… So I folded all of the pants and shorts first. Then I moved on to my shirts – most of them got hung up, anyway, so I just laid them on the bed. Next, my husbands shirts. And as I went through everything – from the very beginning – whenever I came across any of our under garments, I moved them into their own little pile. Same went with the socks. Then I folded said under garments and socks. Then I was done. And it seemed to go by pretty quickly – and painlessly.

And that is how I have been folding our laundry ever since: get rid of the daunting mountain first and then work your way down:

  1. Bulky clothes (pants, sweaters, sweatshirts, towels, etc.)
  2. Anything that gets hung up
  3. Shirts
  4. Undies and socks

I hope this has given someone out there, despairing about folding their own mountain, some encouragement and ideas on how they might fold their laundry in the future. Let me know what you think!

Exciting post, was it not?

Leave a Reply

