It’s Not Morning Anymore

Good morning! I’ve been wanting to post about something for last couple of days – I even had my topic – I was just at a loss on how to start. But when I woke up this morning and sat down to tea and an incredibly decadent chocolate cupcake I made last night, I thought “Just start with how you would if you were talking to a friend.” So I fired up the laptop, put on the soundtrack from the 2005 Pride & Prejudice, and here I am!

While I’m on the subject of Pride & Prejudice, the 2005 movie with Keira Knightly was good, but the 1995 miniseries is without comparison. Colin Firth is the only Mr. Darcy and if you haven’t seen the P&P miniseries, please take the time to do so. You will not regret it! If what’s holding you back is “It’s too long” or “It’s too slow,” just take it one episode at a time and see how it goes; spread it out over the course of a week, if you want or need to. I mean, just look it him!

colin-firth-as-mr-darcy-in-pride-and-prejudice-bbc-adaptation-1995    darcy

pp1995-darcy-smile

This is him looking at Lizzy after she saved his sister from a very uncomfortable situation… *sigh*

article-2358180-1ab6b31d000005dc-765_634x437

Did you know that there was even a statue of a wet-shirted Darcy constructed and installed at Lyme Park in Cheshire, where that scene was filmed?? As far as I can tell, it only stayed there for a year before it was taken down. But still!!

Okay, okay, I digress…

Something that I want to do is to write a post about all of my past projects. It wont be one post with all of them; that would be wayyy too long, for I’ve made a lot of stuff over the years. So it will be one or two past projects per post every week or so.

I will begin with my scarf!

img_6364

It was inspired by Rory Gilmore, of the TV show Gilmore Girls. She wore a white scarf off and on throughout a couple of seasons and I fell in love with it. img_0498So began my mission. I scoured the internet looking for a crochet pattern for this scarf. Then, I found it! Wait… no. This pattern is for knitting. I look again… and find another! Hold up… knitting, again! Gosh darn it! I begin to despair. I take a break. I look again. And then… Oh yes. I find it. A beautiful white scarf pattern for CROCHET! The pattern was even titled “I’m Not Usually In A Limo,” which is a line Rory says while wearing the scarf. I was over the moon excited! The very next day I went to Joann’s to buy some yarn. For the life of me, I cannot remember what brand I used (it’s been a couple of years!), but it was either a DK or sport weight yarn, white (of course) with a subtle, shiny thread of white woven throughout to give it a glistening, “I’ve just come in from the snow” look. See?

img_6402

The pattern was worked in a series of squares that you join together on-the-go… a first for me! I had never done that before, but I braced myself and dove in. I had such a great time making this scarf; it was intricate, I crocheted the squares together as I went, it was so beautiful, and it was for me. I absolutely love crocheting things for other people; it gives me a chance to do new patterns and not have my house stuffed to the brim with blankets and afghans! But sometimes, it’s really nice to make something for myself.

So, here is the link to the pattern if any of you should want to make this yourself. I have so much respect for the woman who made this pattern… She reverse-engineered it by studying stills of the show while Rory was wearing it! It must have taken so much time and work.

A couple of notes on this pattern:

  • UK terminology is used, NOT American terminology!! It says as much in the beginning of the pattern, but I feel the need to point it again. I have made things in the past not realizing the pattern was using UK terms and it turned out really weird. So be aware!
  • I did not use the recommended weight of yarn, nor the recommended hook size, so my squares came out a little bigger than in the pattern. She did three rows of squares across, and I only did two. The choice is up to you.

Also, I did not block my scarf. Mostly because I had never blocked anything before (and still haven’t) and was so happy and excited with how it turned out that I decided I wasn’t going to. But now that some time has passed, I think I am going to block it. It will really enhance the beauty of the scarf by making it look lacy, and all of the details of the gaps and chains will really stand out, rather than looking all squished together and slightly crumpled.

That’s it for the scarf! Cheers!

P.S. Here is a picture of the incredibly decedent chocolate cupcakes I made last night, and here is the recipe. They are so good.img_6395

4 thoughts on “It’s Not Morning Anymore

Leave a Reply

